Still sharing Dropbox?

Are you still sharing your digital footprints with other Dropbox users?

Still sharing Dropbox?

Heard of Dropbox? At least 200 million of us have. It’s been around for some time now, having been founded in 2007 and launched in 2008. It is one of the Internet’s earliest popular cloud storage services. You may well use it yourself to store your photos and documents.

Forgotten you signed up?

Some of you, however, may not even know or will have forgotten that you are using it. Some phone companies provided Dropbox, with extra storage space as an incentive whilst setting up your new smartphone. Perhaps in the frenzy to get it up and running you signed up when asked. You may also have forgotten that you’d agreed that any photo you take will be dutifully uploaded to your account for backup and safe keeping.

Still sharing Drobox?

Those that do use it extensively may also have explored Dropbox’s features more fully. One of those features that you may have used is share. This allows you to share your Dropbox files and folders with others. So you may have shared some of your digital assets with your friends, work colleagues or other third parties with whom you once did business. Without reminders, it is very easy to forget to switch off sharing once the need is over. Undoubtedly, if you trawl through your account you’ll find something you are still sharing from a long time ago.

Particular care should be taken if you share folders. Everything you subsequently load into that folder will be available to all those you shared it with in the past. This may be desirable, if perhaps you are sharing you photos buy adipex p online with family and friends, but of course may not – particularly if the relationship with the sharer has changed or ended.

Review your sharing

It may be advisable to check every once in a while for shares you no longer need to have in place else you may accidentally be leaving your digital footprints in places you’d forgotten about. Alternatively, you can always now place an expiry on the asset you are sharing so you no longer need to remember. If you are using the paid for Pro version of Dropbox, you will have other options to manage sharing.

Remember too, that your Dropbox account is a Digital Asset and should be added to your list of Digital Account Assets.

Summary

Even though you may still be sharing photos and documents, it is highly likely that the relationship that started the sharing continues to hold with an element of trust, even if the relationship no longer exists in practice. The value to you of accidentally sharing something you shouldn’t with others will depend on what it is and how the recipient of the share looks after your data. Of course, worse case, the risk could be substantial from both a private and a business perspective.

Risks

Consider the following risks should you not maintain your Dropbox account:

  • Accidentally sharing of confidential information through new uploads
  • Continued sharing of information that should no longer be shared

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


4 − = zero